Onion rings compared across 6 chains
6 of the largest US chains list 6 menu items in this group (onion rings). Among single orders, the lightest is the Burger King Onion Rings (Value) at 170 calories and the heaviest is the Culver's Onion Rings (Large) at 840 calories. Catering, party and family sizes are left out of that comparison.
Each chain sets its own portions, so a “medium” at one chain can be much larger than at another, and some chains give values for one piece or one slice rather than a whole order. The size column shows the serving each row’s values are for, as the chain publishes it (pieces, weight or volume); compare servings, not size names. Values are for the standard recipe.
Every item side by side
Select a column to sort
| Onion RingsBurger King | Value (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 170–430 | 8 | 1 | 300 | 22 | 2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Onion RingsSonic | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 440–800 | 21 | 3.5 | 430 | 55 | 6 |
| Onion RingsDairy Queen | Regular (1 of 2 sizes)Serving not stated | 290–450 | 13 | 2 | 680 | 39 | 5 |
| Onion RingsWhataburger | Medium (1 of 2 sizes)Serving not stated | 300–450 | 17 | 2.5 | 430 | 33 | 4 |
| Panko Onion RingsJack in the Box | One size118 g | 440 | 24 | 2 | 620 | 52 | 6 |
| Onion RingsCulver's | Medium (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 420–1,270 | 23 | 2 | 930 | 49 | 5 |
There is one row per item. Calories show the range across every size the chain lists; the other columns are for the size and serving shown, usually the chain’s first listed size. A blank cell means the chain does not publish that value. Each item’s page has every size with full nutrition facts, and allergens where the chain publishes them.
Sources
- 1Burger King menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 2Culver's menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 3Dairy Queen menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 4Jack in the Box menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 5Sonic menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 6Whataburger menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026