Milkshakes compared across 9 chains
9 of the largest US chains list 50 menu items in this group (milkshakes). Among single orders, the lightest is the Sonic Strawberry Shake (Mini) at 360 calories and the heaviest is the Sonic Oreo Peanut Butter Shake (Large) at 1,480 calories.
Each chain sets its own portions, so a “medium” at one chain can be much larger than at another, and some chains give values for one piece or one slice rather than a whole order. The size column shows the serving each row’s values are for, as the chain publishes it (pieces, weight or volume); compare servings, not size names. Values are for the standard recipe.
Every item side by side
Select a column to sort
| Chocolate ShakeMcDonald’s | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 520–800 | 14 | 9 | 250 | 85 | 12 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vanilla ShakeMcDonald’s | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 480–780 | 13 | 8 | 210 | 80 | 10 |
| Strawberry ShakeMcDonald’s | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 470–850 | 13 | 8 | 160 | 77 | 10 |
| S'mores MilkshakeChick-fil-A | One size411 g | 650 | 19 | 12 | 400 | 109 | 12 |
| Vanilla MilkshakeChick-fil-A | One size409 g | 580 | 23 | 15 | 390 | 82 | 13 |
| Strawberry MilkshakeChick-fil-A | One size409 g | 560 | 18 | 11 | 370 | 92 | 10 |
| Chocolate MilkshakeChick-fil-A | One size409 g | 600 | 22 | 14 | 350 | 93 | 12 |
| Cookies & Cream MilkshakeChick-fil-A | One size409 g | 630 | 25 | 15 | 430 | 91 | 13 |
| Classic Oreo ShakeBurger King | One sizeServing not stated | 640 | 17 | 10 | 460 | 109 | 13 |
| Chocolate Oreo ShakeBurger King | One sizeServing not stated | 670 | 17 | 10 | 470 | 116 | 13 |
| Chocolate ShakeBurger King | One sizeServing not stated | 590 | 14 | 9 | 420 | 103 | 13 |
| Vanilla ShakeBurger King | One sizeServing not stated | 560 | 14 | 9 | 400 | 96 | 12 |
| Strawberry ShakeBurger King | One sizeServing not stated | 610 | 14 | 9 | 420 | 110 | 12 |
| Banana Pudding ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 430–1,160 | 17 | 12 | 310 | 65 | 7 |
| Banana ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 390–1,100 | 14 | 11 | 260 | 62 | 7 |
| Caramel ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 380–1,070 | 15 | 12 | 320 | 56 | 7 |
| Chocolate ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 370–1,050 | 15 | 12 | 340 | 56 | 7 |
| Hot Fudge ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 410–1,150 | 17 | 13 | 290 | 59 | 7 |
| Peanut Butter ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 440–1,240 | 23 | 13 | 330 | 51 | 9 |
| Strawberry ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 360–1,010 | 14 | 11 | 270 | 54 | 6 |
| Vanilla ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 370–1,040 | 15 | 12 | 290 | 53 | 7 |
| Cheesecake ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 400–1,090 | 16 | 12 | 400 | 60 | 7 |
| Oreo Cheesecake ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 510–1,320 | 20 | 13 | 520 | 77 | 7 |
| Oreo Chocolate ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 480–1,290 | 20 | 13 | 460 | 72 | 7 |
| Oreo Peanut Butter ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 540–1,480 | 28 | 14 | 450 | 68 | 9 |
| Strawberry Cheesecake ShakeSonic | Mini (1 of 4 sizes)Serving not stated | 420–1,160 | 16 | 12 | 400 | 66 | 7 |
| Maple Cookie ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 2 sizes)Serving not stated | 590–770 | 29 | 16 | 380 | 71 | 12 |
| Banana ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 470–750 | 19 | 13 | 190 | 64 | 13 |
| Caramel ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 550–980 | 20 | 14 | 240 | 79 | 13 |
| Chocolate ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 530–920 | 19 | 14 | 220 | 77 | 13 |
| Hot Fudge ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 550–990 | 22 | 17 | 240 | 75 | 13 |
| Peanut Butter ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 640–1,250 | 34 | 16 | 370 | 67 | 16 |
| Strawberry ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 490–800 | 19 | 14 | 200 | 68 | 13 |
| Vanilla ShakeDairy Queen | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 520–860 | 19 | 14 | 200 | 73 | 13 |
| Chocolate ShakeWhataburger | Small (1 of 3 sizes)16 fl oz | 440–890 | 11 | 6 | 390 | 80 | 10 |
| Strawberry ShakeWhataburger | Small (1 of 3 sizes)16 fl oz | 450–890 | 11 | 6 | 370 | 80 | 9 |
| Vanilla ShakeWhataburger | Small (1 of 3 sizes)16 fl oz | 410–820 | 12 | 7 | 390 | 69 | 10 |
| Dr Pepper ShakeWhataburger | Small (1 of 3 sizes)16 fl oz | 430–870 | 11 | 6 | 370 | 78 | 9 |
| Jamocha ShakeArby's | Small (1 of 3 sizes)372 g | 540–980 | 16 | 10 | 320 | 88 | 12 |
| Chocolate ShakeArby's | Small (1 of 3 sizes)372 g | 540–970 | 17 | 11 | 320 | 86 | 12 |
| Vanilla ShakeArby's | Small (1 of 3 sizes)361 g | 480–870 | 17 | 11 | 300 | 70 | 12 |
| Chocolate Shake with Whipped ToppingJack in the Box | Regular (1 of 2 sizes)16 oz · 376 g | 670–970 | 22 | 15 | 400 | 106 | 14 |
| Oreo Shake with Whipped ToppingJack in the Box | Regular (1 of 2 sizes)16 oz · 361 g | 690–990 | 27 | 16 | 470 | 99 | 14 |
| Strawberry Shake with Whipped ToppingJack in the Box | Regular (1 of 2 sizes)16 oz · 369 g | 640–930 | 22 | 14 | 340 | 99 | 13 |
| Vanilla Shake with Whipped ToppingJack in the Box | Regular (1 of 2 sizes)16 oz · 338 g | 580–820 | 22 | 14 | 340 | 82 | 13 |
| Shake, Vanilla with Boba & Whipped ToppingJack in the Box | One size16 fl. oz. · 403 g | 710 | 22 | 14 | 350 | 117 | 13 |
| Pumpkin Spice ShakeCulver's | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 630–1,090 | 34 | 20 | 250 | 73 | 11 |
| Pumpkin Spice MaltCulver's | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 660–1,180 | 35 | 20 | 270 | 79 | 12 |
| ShakeCulver's | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 570–1,030 | 34 | 20 | 170 | 57 | 11 |
| MaltCulver's | Small (1 of 3 sizes)Serving not stated | 600–1,120 | 35 | 20 | 190 | 63 | 12 |
There is one row per item. Calories show the range across every size the chain lists; the other columns are for the size and serving shown, usually the chain’s first listed size. A blank cell means the chain does not publish that value. Each item’s page has every size with full nutrition facts, and allergens where the chain publishes them.
Sources
- 1Arby's menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 2Burger King menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 3Chick-fil-A menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 4Culver's menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 5Dairy Queen menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 6Jack in the Box menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 7McDonald’s menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 8Sonic menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026
- 9Whataburger menu dataOfficial nutrition information, checked 8 Oct 2026